1529055237
Hardback:Brood / Jackie Polzin.:2021 Hardback Brood / Jackie Polzin.
Brood / Jackie Polzin.
Author: Polzin, Jackie, 1979-,
Publication year: 2021
Format: Hardback
Publisher: Picador
Resource type: Physical
ISBN: 1529055237 9781529055238 (hbk.) :
Notes:
In 'Brood', a stunning new voice depicts one woman's attempt to keep her four chickens alive while reflecting on a recent loss of a miscarriage. 'Completely original, full of surprise, humor, grief, and wisdom.'Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves'Darkly funny and poignant'Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train'Fans of Elizabeth Strout and Anne Tyler will devour it.' Daily MirrorMeet Gloria, Gam Gam, Darkness, Miss Hennepin County, and their unlikely owner. Over the course of a single year, our nameless narrator heroically tries to keep her small brood of four chickens alive despite the seemingly endless challenges that caring for another creature entails. From the freezing nights of a brutal winter to a sweltering summer which brings a surprise tornado, she battles predators, bad luck, and the uncertainty of a future that may not look anything like the one she always imagined.Brood by Jackie Polzin is a darkly witty, deeply moving and startling
Selected rating Selected rating Selected rating Selected rating Selected rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating
Available: 1
Total number of items: 1
Number of reservations: 0
Description:
240 pages ; 22 cm

Available at:

Loading...

Other titles by the author

Similar titles

1398504173
Author: Majumdar, Megha, author.
057135551X
Author: Dangarembga, Tsitsi, author.
3955338622
Author: Jae
1857150708
Author: Dostoevsky, Fyodor, author.
1907320849
Author: Ferner, Anthony
0553272942
Author: Crane, Milton, author.
1472153650
Author: Fischer, Tibor, 1959- author.
1781256470
Author: Kraus, Chris, author.
0571366201
0956971946
Author: Osman, Diriye, 1983- author.
1910477788
Author: Barbery, Muriel, author.
057136487X
Author: Ishiguro, Kazuo, 1954- author.
191070962X
Author: Laguna, Sofie
1643854402
Author: Hahn, Sumi, author.
000838102X
Author: Gnuse, A. J., 1990- author.
1908600470
Author: Goodwin, Anne, author.
1788161084
Author: Mangan, Lucy, author.
1841596019
Author: Washington, Peter

Language