1526602873
Hardback:I've been meaning to tell you : a letter to my daughter / David Chariandy.:2019 Hardback I've been meaning to tell you : a letter to my daughter / David Chariandy.
I've been meaning to tell you : a letter to my daughter / David Chariandy.
Author: Chariandy, David, 1969-
Publication year: 2019
Format: Hardback
Publisher: London : Bloomsbury Publishing,
Resource type: Physical
ISBN: 9781526602879 (hbk.) :
Notes:
The Canadian author of }Brother{ provides a meditation on the politics of race today, in the form of a letter to her his 3-year-old daughter. The son of black and South Asian migrants from Trinidad, Chariandy draws upon his own past and experiences, as well as the legacies of slavery, indenture and immigration. 'There is, as you pick it up, nothing to prepare you for its power' OBSERVER 'Quite simply, one of the most beautiful books I have ever read' AMINATTA FORNA How do we navigate our complex histories for our children? What is our duty to share and what must we leave for them to discover? Writing to his daughter, David Chariandy asks difficult, unsettling, perhaps impossible questions - questions made all the more poignant by our current political landscape. With tender, spare and luminous prose, Chariandy looks both into his heart and mind and out to the world and humanity. In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, this is a book about race; this is a b
Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating
Available: 1
Total number of items: 1
Number of reservations: 0
Description:
91 pages ; 21 cm

Available at:

Loading...

Other titles by the author

Similar titles

0062955284
Author: Moore, Jessica Care, author.
1526630370
Author: Harris, Zakiya Dalila, author.
1786075164
Author: Jones, Tayari, author.
140887055X
Author: Eddo-Lodge, Reni, author.
1847081983
Author: Lindqvist, Sven, 1932-2019, author.
184604572X
1529079683
Author: Chou, Elaine Hsieh, author.
1108422780
Author: Heng, Geraldine, author.
163149614X
Author: Wilderson, Frank B., III, 1956- author.
1419729071
Author: Criado-Perez, Caroline, author.
024152105X
Author: Rollock, Nicola, author.
0674976452
Author: Morrison, Toni, author.
0241470927
Author: Knowles, Caroline, 1954- author.
0861542509
Author: MacAskill, William, 1987- author.
1472293851
Author: Atticus (Poet), author.

Language