1471190269
Hardback:A burning / Megha Majumdar.:2021 Hardback A burning / Megha Majumdar.
A burning / Megha Majumdar.
Author: Majumdar, Megha,
Publication year: 2021
Format: Hardback
Publisher: Scribner
Resource type: Physical
ISBN: 1471190269 9781471190261 (hbk.) :
Notes:
Originally published: U.S.: Alfred A. Knopf, 2020.
Illustration on lining papers.
For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, this is an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise - to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies - and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.
Selected rating Selected rating Selected rating Selected rating Selected rating Selected rating Selected rating Selected rating Provide rating Provide rating
Available: 1
Total number of items: 1
Number of reservations: 0
Description:
289 pages ; 23 cm

Available at:

Loading...
What an excellent novel. A literary thriller set largely in the slums of contemporary Kolcata, dealing with the aftermath of a terrorist atrocity. The story is told from the viewpoints of three very different characters, and each of their voices is distinctive and convincingly human. Corruption in Government and in the Justice and Education systems, along with religious prejudice and mob rule, shape the lives of these characters in ways that are moving and ultimately devastating. Even though not all three characters gain our sympathy to the same extent, it is still easy to understand why they act as they do when their choices are limited by the irresistible forces that govern their lives. Ultimately, for me, the book asked important questions about an individual's freedom of choice to act honestly and morally and without hypocrisy when you have no control over major factors which govern the course of your life in a corrupt society. Highly recommended.
29/07/22
robrue

Other titles by the author

Similar titles

1408864371
0500014205
Author: Macmillan, Margaret Olwen.
0810921324
Author: Godard, Philippe, 1959-
1445148641
Author: Green, Jen, author.
1445136791
Author: Ganeri, Anita, 1961- author.
0749684224
Author: Hardyman, Robyn.
0749688440
Author: Humble, Darryl.
0750232307
Author: Mamdani, Shelby.
0713434155
1408800616
1408713349
Author: Raina, Rahul, author.
0431119333
Author: Parker, Victoria.
0593041542
Author: Lambert, Angela.
0431083185
Author: Roop, Peter.
1844213064
Author: Sapre, Reshma.
1787013693
Author: Bindloss, Joseph, author.
1445181444
Author: Ganeri, Anita, 1961- author.
0195128761
Author: Wolpert, Stanley A., 1927-

Language